notation sample

International Machaut Society

The Sarah Jane Williams Award
Established May 1998

The International Machaut Society has created the Sarah Jane Williams Award to honor the Society's founder and first president. This award, carrying a prize of $500, will be given every other year to promote the study, criticism, performance, research, and exchange of ideas related to all aspects of the works of Guillaume de Machaut. Fields of inquiry include (but are not limited to) literary history and criticism, musicology, the performing arts, art history, and codicology. Projects centered on the study and performance of the works of other poets and composers or on other performance or manuscript traditions will also be considered, insofar as they contribute significantly to the study of the background, context, or influence of the works of Machaut. Graduate students in particular are encouraged to apply. Past winners include Jennifer Bain (1999), Lawrence Earp (2000), and Elizabeth Eva Leach (2002).

Applications in triplicate, including a one-page description of the proposed project, a curriculum vitae, and the name and contact information of one recommender, should be sent no later than March 1 of each odd-numbered year to: Jared Hartt, Secretary-Treasurer, International Machaut Society, Oberlin College Conservatory of Music, 77 W. College Street, Oberlin, OH 44074; e-mail

The winner will be announced at the annual Business Meeting of the Society, held at the International Congress of Medieval Studies at Kalamazoo in May, and in the Society's Newsletter, Ymaginer.

E-mail us 2010, International Machaut Society
Last modified 8 June 2010
IMS home page Links Kalamazoo Calls for papers Members
Abstracts 2000-2 Abstracts 2003-4 Abstracts 2005 Abstracts 2006 Abstracts 2007
K'zoo 2008 K'zoo 2009 K'zoo 2010 Leeds 2008

Machaut Bibliography--Text Machaut Bibliography--Music
Machaut Bibliography--Art

Maintained by Alice V. Clark, IMS Webmaster,, College of Music and Fine Arts, Loyola University New Orleans.
Site originally developed by Cynthia Cyrus with assistance from Eric Oliver. Space originally provided by the Blair School of Music at Vanderbilt University